Tour Scotland
Home Page

Sir David Willam Bone
(1874-1959) - Novelist

He was born in Glasgow and between the ages of 15 and 22 served as a sailor in the merchant marine, working on square-rigged sailing ships. In 1899 he joined the Anchor Line, rising to the rank of Commodore, but the publication of his novels about the sea, among which should be mentioned The Brassbounder (1910), Broken Stowage (1915) and The Lookoutman (1923), brought him to public attention and he became a well-known authority on maritime matters. His Merchant men at Arms (1919) was a moving account of the merchant marine during World War I and it was lovingly illustrated by his brother the artist Muirhead Bone. They had previously collaborated, together with Archibald H. Charteris, to produce Glasgow in 1901 (1901), an enthusiastic, factual description of the city at the turn of the century, produced under the collective pseudonym 'James Hamilton Muir'. Bone was knighted in 1946 and his autobiography, Landfall at Sunset, appeared in 1955, four years before his death on 17 May 1959.

Works: with Archibald H. Charteris, Glasgow in 1901 (1901); The Brassbounder (1910); Broken Stowage (1915); Merchantmen at Arms (1919); The Lookoutman (1923); Capstan Bars1931); Merchant men Re-armed (1949); The Queerfella (1952);Landfall at Sunset (1955).

Return To Famous Scots

Tour Scotland
Tour Edinburgh
Tour Island Of Skye

Rent A Self Catering Hoilday Cottage In Scotland

Share This Tour Scotland Web Page

Top Destinations
Tour Europe